Review: Running Man

The Running Man – Stephen King

I had seen this recommended as a good readalike for the Hunger Games, that it deals with a lot of the same themes and ideas. Which is absolutely true.  I also liked that it would appeal to guys.  I found it a little hard to get into, and maybe it was a little ironic that I spent a few afternoons reading it while sipping a glass of wine in a fancy hotel lounge, but ultimately I enjoyed it.  Ben Richards is compelling, and his fight-the-man attitude would definitely resonate with teens.  And televised blood sport is not all that hard to believe. 

The one huge caveat with this book is that the introduction reveals the denouement.  You might as well read the last page as read the introduction.  Thanks for nothing editors!

(I’m both sick and crazy busy with work stuff that I can’t talk about yet, but am dying to share with the world, and so I’m trying to get any kind of backlog of anything done because if I don’t do it now I’ll never do it. )

2 responses to “Review: Running Man

  1. I’ve come around on the movie version of this. I used to think it was kind of crap until I realized it’s just another installment of Arnold Schwarzenegger’s cyberpunk oeuvre and that made it totally awesome.

    I actually think The Long Walk is the more interesting of King’s Bachman books. The focus in it is entirely on the details of the Bataan-deat- march-like race and the world that spawns it is mostly to the reader’s imagination.

    What’s also worth a read, if you haven’t, is The Eyes of the Dragon. It’s Stephen King’s genuinely creepy attempt at a fairy tale for his children.

  2. I keep meaning to read Eyes of the Dragon.

Leave a Reply

