Adult Books

I have a handful of reviews to put up later today, but I like to let them sit for a second once I’m done and then go back and ever-so-lightly revise them.  But in other news, adult reading news, I like how related the books I’ve finished lately have been:

  • Dreams from my Father – Barack Obama
  • American Wife – Curtis Sittenfeld
  • I Don’t: A Contrarian History of Marriage – Susan Squire

I really enjoyed them all and already passed on the last two to a friend who I know also likes Laura Bush and would enjoy the biblical and historical aspects of “I Don’t.”

A funny thing has happened now that my husband doesn’t work at a bookstore anymore: I’ve started buying books again.  While he was there, with his deep discount, I only ever checked books out from the library.  The passivity of just asking him to get what I wanted took all the fun out of it for me.  But now that I don’t have a cheap and easy way to get books, I’ve just been buying them for myself.  Or at least the ones I can’t wait until the library gets ’em.  Not that there’s a book-free inch in our apartment.

Leave a Reply

